New Arkansas Laws in Effect for 2016

As of January 1st, there are a few State-wide changes involving finances, insurance, and licenses we'd like to make our residents aware of:

  • The minimum wage is now $8.00 per hour.
  • The income tax rate is reduced by 1% for those making $21000-75000 annually.
  • The 6.9% top rate is again in effect for those with taxable incomes above $75000.
  • Farmers and ranchers receive an income tax exemption for payment from an agricultural disaster program.
  • All healthcare plans provided in Arkansas under the ACA must provide the minimum benefits for pediatric oral health.
  • Abortions for minors require the notarized consent of a parent or legal guardian.
  • Driver's licenses issued after January 1st 2016 do not expire for 8 years.
  • If an individual has paid all court costs and fees associated with a driver's license suspension (resulting from an outstanding reinstatement fees) and completed a specialty court program such as drug court, then the driver’s license can be reinstated for a one-time fee of $100.
  • All catfish not from the United States will be marked as "imported," Arkansas is the third largest producer of catfish in the country.