Van Buren County was formed November 1833, from parts of Conway, Independence and Izard counties.

Van Buren County was named for President Martin Van Buren who held the office as the county became the 29th in the state of Arkansas.

As of the 2013, Van Buren County has a population of 16,932 residents.